Our Vision: A world without skin cancer.

Our Mission: To prevent and eradicate skin cancer through education, awareness, advocacy and research.

The Board of the Canadian Skin Cancer Foundation is dedicated to:

  • Delivering awareness and education programs to help reduce the occurrence of skin cancer in Canada.
  • Advocating for the restricted use of tanning beds for minors (those under the age of 18).
  • Supporting skin cancer research.

The Canadian Skin Cancer Foundation was founded in 2002 by Dr. Barry Lycka, one of North America’s foremost authorities on skin cancer surgery. Dr. Lycka believes that skin cancers could be virtually eliminated if people were aware of the dangers of overexposure to the sun’s harmful UV rays and educated about how to enjoy the outdoors safely.

Dr. Lycka recruited board members and program volunteers to the foundation. By 2010, the CSCF was distributing over 7,000 free sunscreen samples and sun safety information to outdoor enthusiasts across Edmonton each summer; conducting four annual University of Alberta campus campaigns; and presenting sun-safety information to 3,000 to 4,000 local elementary, junior high and high school students annually.

In the winter of 2010, the CSCF created a comprehensive Strategic Plan to move the Foundation beyond Edmonton, into the rest of Alberta and across Canada.

Other members of the Board include those touched by skin cancer and those who are committed to reducing skin cancer rates through awareness and education.

The current board is:
Co-Chairs             Marie Iwanow, Dr. Barry Lycka
Secretary             Lee Weir
Treasurer             Humza Mehmood


Ashok Bhaseen

Brent Bailey

Mitch Richardson

Graham Stephens

Shanka Jha

Divya Jha

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
Share on print
Join the Conversation